ROKiT Venturi Racing’s Edoardo Mortara won the Berlin E-Prix Round 7, the first of the 2 races in the capital city of Germany. The Swiss driver converted his pole position to victory, and controlled the entire duration of the race from the lead, except when he dropped a couple of places while using his 2 attack modes. DSTecheetah driver Jean-Eric Vergne came home to finish the race in P2, to close his points gap with Vandoorne, who made a miraculous recovery to finish in P3 after dropping to 12th on the opening laps.


Jean-Eric Vergne gave it his all, but could only manage to bring home P2.

JEV gave it his all towards the closing stages of the race to get the lead, and on lap 37, he went for an ambitious move after a mistake from Mortara, and couldn’t make it stick, leaving him under pressure from Vandoorne and the Porsche of Andre Lotterer. Vergne managed to hold on to second place, despite the pressure Vandoorne put him under, and closed the championship gap by 3 points. The Frenchman still hasn’t won a race this season despite being 2nd in the championship – just 3 points behind Vandoorne – and he said that it was a matter of “when, not if” he wins a race this year.

Also Read: Formula E Reveals Gen3 Electric Race Car


Stoffel Vandoorne drove a great recovery drive to finish on the podium.

Vandoorne drove an epic recovery drive after having dropped down to P12 at the opening laps. Following his win at the Monaco E-Prix, the Belgian driver, made up place after place, until he was up into the lead, but Mortara passed him for the lead using his attack mode. Soon after Mortara moved back into the lead, Vergne made a move on Vandoorne to take P2, and he did enough to fend him off despite struggling in the closing stages.

The race was dramatic from the the beginning. Right at the start of the race Antonio Felix da Costa attempted a move on Mahindra Racing’s Alex Sims from P3, but the top trio came out as is out of turn 1. Post that, da Costa dropped down the order to finish 8th, as Sims finished behind him in P9. Sims’ teammate Oliver Rowland couldn’t manage to finish in points, as he could only recover to P11 after having started the race down in P17.


The Porsche drivers fought with title contender Mitch Evans for P4, and they finished with Lotterer getting P4 ahead of Evans and Wehrlein. Evans climbed his way up from P9, and took home decent points to keep his title hopes alive, as title rival Robin Frijns could only finish 12th after qualifying down in 20th, dropping a place in the championship standings. Other than that change in the order, the top 10 in the World Championship stay in the same order, with the gap at the top now down to just 3 points.

2022 Berlin E-Prix – Round 7 Results:

Pos.DriverTeamGrid Pos.Time/GapPoints
1Edoardo MortaraROKiT Venturi Racing1P46:16.17528
2Jean-Éric VergneDS TECHEETAH4+1.78218
3Stoffel VandoorneMercedes-EQ Formula E Team8+1.98715
4André LottererTAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team5+2.57912
5Mitch EvansJaguar TCS Racing9+3.18910
6Pascal WehrleinTAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team6+5.4059
7Sam BirdJaguar TCS Racing15+5.6836
8António Félix Da CostaDS TECHEETAH3+6.4004
9Alexander SimsMahindra Racing2+6.5692
10Nyck De VriesMercedes-EQ Formula E Team12+6.6021
11Oliver RowlandMahindra Racing17+8.1410
12Robin FrijnsEnvision Racing20+9.8790
13Jake DennisAvalanche Andretti Formula E11+13.3140
14Sébastien BuemiNissan e.Dams10+15.2750
15Oliver AskewAvalanche Andretti Formula E22+22.0710
16Oliver TurveyNIO 333 FE Team14+22.6620
17Sérgio Sette CâmaraDRAGON / PENSKE AUTOSPORT7+24.1200
18Maximilian GüntherNissan e.Dams16+28.7160
19Dan TicktumNIO 333 FE Team21+30.3930
20Antonio GiovinazziDRAGON / PENSKE AUTOSPORT18+52.0250
DNFLucas Di GrassiROKiT Venturi Racing13DNF0
DNFNick CassidyEnvision Racing19DNF0

ABB FIA Formula E World Championship Standings Post Round 7

1Stoffel VandoorneMercedes-EQ Formula E Team96
2Jean-Éric VergneDS TECHEETAH93
3Mitch EvansJaguar TCS Racing82
4Edoardo MortaraROKiT Venturi Racing77
5Robin FrijnsEnvision Racing71
6André LottererTAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team55
7Pascal WehrleinTAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team51
8Nyck De VriesMercedes-EQ Formula E Team40
9Lucas Di GrassiROKiT Venturi Racing37
10António Félix Da CostaDS TECHEETAH34

For the latest auto news and reviews, follow on Twitter, Facebook, and subscribe to our YouTube channel.

Source link


Waiting For A Big SCOOP

About the Author


Founder & Editor

Waiting For A Big SCOOP

View All Articles